Vegan During Exams

It can be a huge challenge to be vegan during the exam period! The past week I had a very difficult time remaining balanced. Instead I did not eat enough and when I did I didn’t put in much effort so it was unsatisfying. Or I just relied on takeout which was obviously satisfying but probably not the best brain fuel! Some of the “meals” I made in the last week are shamefully awful… I don’t want to keep repeating this bad eating cycle so I made this list of ways I plan to be healthy during exams. Thought I would share it in case anyone else is in the same boat.

  • Start the day with one of my three favourite breakfast salads!

1.) 1/2 a diced apple, 2 tbsp walnuts, whatever kind of greens I have, 1 tbsp dried cranberries, vinaigrette dressing

2.) Mango or strawberry avocado (1/2 avocado)  salad with vinaigrette over lemon juice (doesn’t need a dressing cause of the mangoes)

3.) Avocado and hemp seed salad. I use about 2 tbsp hemp seeds.  I like to eat this salad with “vegan caesar dressing” which is made with cashews (soaked overnight), nutritional yeast, lemon juice, and garlic. I just put those ingredients in the magic bullet. Its very good cause the salad would be a little boring otherwise.

  • Make easy staples ahead of time. On Sunday night cook a bunch of lentils, start soaking some chickpeas, and make a big pot of brown rice! And of course make sure the fridge is stocked with tofu and tempeh:) My favourite vegan staples!
  • Rely on easy dinner staples, like pasta based meals.  Pasta is very quick to make and it is filling and comforting after a long day.
  • Eat healthy snacks throughout the day, even if I don’t necessarily feel that hungry. During periods of stress, its common to not even realize you are hungry until suddenly you are in a terrible mood and have lost the ability to focus. I really do so much better when I eat snacks throughout the day and this is even more the case now that I am vegan.

Another thing I will focus on is to keep doing the things I enjoy. I should still go to yoga and take relaxing baths, and drink tea and things like that because it all plays a role in keeping me balanced. I hope these tips were helpful! If you have any great tips for remaining balanced in times of stress, feel free to let me know in the comment section!

IMG_5691.jpg

Leave a Reply

